Little Things · Uncategorized

Alexa and Little Me

Being a Little isn’t always grins and giggles…sometimes my Little nature can drive me insane in ways that you can’t imagine.  The latest is the Amazon Alexa.  The Little side of me says “GET IT” and it can tell you bedtime stories.  GET IT and it will remind you of the things that you need to do, GET IT and she will make the grocery list so we stop running out of food.  Sooooooooooooo many things go though

Easy right…yo go online to Amazon and just buy it right?  WRONG!!!!  There are SOOOOOOO many OPTIONS to choose from that I feel overwhelmed.  My anxiety starts and I feel paralyzed that I will choose the wrong thing.  I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I have bought electronics that I didn’t need and never really used….Apple Watch, iPhone 7, Fitbit Alta, Fit bit scale, 45 inch smart tv…..UGH I’m the running family joke!  My kids love to just take things home with them when they come to visit or have me ship things to them that I just don’t use or replace with “what I really wanted”.

Yet, let someone buy it for me and I will use it happily without a thought to the cost or if it’s “what I really wanted”.  Easy right, ask one of my siblings to buy it for me as a belated birthday present right?  WRONG!  The big girl part of me just can’t part my lips to ask someone to shell out $175 for a gift.  It’s to expensive and it’s money that they could use to do something for themselves.

So for 2 months I go onto the amazon website and look at ALL the information.  I compare the dot, the the echo, the Tap, and the Show.  Garrick and I talked and he has the Echo and recommended it but then he also said that the dot is a good starter.  A Little friend has the dot and likes it but she also have the Show and LOVES IT!  Did I mention that Alexa can tell you bedtime stories and keep you organized?

It’s gotten so bad that I know I need to make a decision so that I can also get the wifi plugs so as to turn the lights off and get to bed at a good time.  So why am I acting like a dog chasing it’s tail on this?  I don’t know but….I’m feeling annoyed and overwhelmed just tying this up LOL.

So there you go…tales of life in the land of Little that I life in!  Now here is the funny part….it’s almost 1:30 am and I am STILL awake, if I had Alexa, she would have reminded me it was time to get ready for bed at 9:30pm and she would have turned off my lights at 10 or 10:30 pm so I wouldn’t have lost track of time and still be sitting here so late!

Ok, now that I”ve gotten that off my chest, I’m off to bed as I have to get up in 4 hours and go to work LOL

12 thoughts on “Alexa and Little Me

  1. I can so relate to this. I spend hours and hours wondering and deliberating and then I get an adrenaline rush when I make the decision and click buy, often to feel right after that I have made the wrong choice.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Or buy and then change your mind? I am sat here with six pairs of trousers trying to decide whether to keep the three that are a little too small, or the three that are a little too big or whether to get a mixture of both sizes. Why three? Because they were in three different colours and I didn’t know which to choose. Dilemmas!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. it can tell bedtime stories?? …… now I have to go look at this!!!

    I waffle on almost everything and can never make up my mind & have been known to have others choose for me & I just pay for it. maybe create a poll or something and get everyone to vote on what they think is the best one, n then the one with the most votes wins? that way you get a surprise and an Alexia at the same time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG YES!!!! In fact, she will tell you two or three back to back if you asked her too 😂

      The voting sounds like a good idea….I’ll have to see if WP allows it

      Like

  3. It’s not just a Little thing. I completely over-reseach absolutely everything.
    When I got my bonus last year I promised myself a tablet. But eventually I just got totally paralysed and worn out by the research and abandoned the whole project.
    I finally bought one last week.

    Ash

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I do like Alexa. Master’s daughter gave him an Alexa and a echo dot for Christmas and I am the one that uses both. He even put the dot on my desk. She is great in the kitchen because I can have her set the time for a few different things that I cook at the same time and she plays pandora for me. i can also say “Alexa order dog food” and she does! The only thing is sometimes when In am talking she interrupts and says “hmmm, I didn’t get that.” Of course silly me, I reply “I wasn’t talking to you!” lol She does have limits though. One day I was having problems with my accounting homework and I asked her to help me with it and she said “Hmmm. I’, sorry, I don’t know what that is.” But I like
    Alexa, even if she can’t help me with my homework. lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

